The Yeovil Literary Prize

2023 Literary Prize Results

Shortlist Results now available: Yeovil Literary Prize 2023 Results.

YCAA Website


Recent Successes

Read about our most recent successes.

2023 YCAA Book Group

The YCAA book group meets in Yeovil in the the Westland Entertainment Venue's Lounge every second Tuesday of the month from 12 noon until 2pm. We read a wide selection of books as suggested by people who come along. You would be welcome! Details can be found on

welcome to the

Yeovil Literary Prize

2023 Results Now Available - well done to all !

Organised by the Yeovil Community Arts Association, this is your opportunity to enter five very different categories of writing. Aspiring writers throughout the world should enter this prestigious writing competition.

Category 1Novel
Requirement:Synopsis and Opening Chapters (combined maximum 10,000 words)
Professional Judge:Victoria Howard, author and member of Sheffield Authors
Prizes:1st £1250   2nd £500   3rd £125
Entry Fee:£14.50

Category 2Short Story
Requirement:Maximum 2,000 words
Professional Judge:Steven Kay, writer and publisher
Prizes:1st £600   2nd £250   3rd £125
Entry Fee:£8

Category 3Poetry
Requirement:Maximum of 40 Lines
Professional Judge:Jessica Mookerjee, Welsh poet of Bengali heritage
Prizes:1st £600   2nd £250   3rd £125
Entry Fee:£5

Category 4Children’s and Young Adult Novel
Requirement:First 3000 words plus a 500 word synopsis (May include one illustration)
Professional Judge:Hannah Gold, multi-award-winning children’s novelist
Prizes:1st £600   2nd £250   3rd £125
Entry Fee:£12.50

Category 5Writing Without Restrictions
Requirement:You write it – we’ll read it. Details are in your category Rules
Professional Judge:Sally Bayley, an acclaimed creative writer of fiction and non-fiction
Prizes:1st £250   2nd £125   3rd £75
Entry Fee:£6

Local PrizeWestern Gazette Best Local Writer Award
Requirement:for a short-listed entry by author living in Western Gazette distribution area.
Professional Judge:The Yeovil Community Arts Association committee

The writing competition runs from 1st January and closes on 31st May each year.